The journey begins

It’s been a nightmare of paperwork. I have a new found respect for all my friends in the military. Dealing with the Fed is a mega-hassle. It’s been a never-ending series of follow-ups and lost paperwork, surprises sprung at the last moment, hoops to jump through, but it’s all happening. I officially have tickets, hotels and rental cars booked. I’m on the bus to Austin (Vonlane, tons of leg room, cold beers and free wifi. Highly recommend it for the DFW-ATX run) where I’ll spend one last night with my sister and her family. Then it’s off to Houston in the am. From there I’ll drive to Galveston for a few days of orientation and more paperwork. But at least some of this paperwork will get me paid.

On Feb6, I’ll drive back to Houston from Galveston, catch a flight to Dallas, from Dallas I’ll fly direct to Sydney and then from Sydney to Christchurch. I’ll have about 2-3 days in Christchurch before I make my first attempt at flying to the ice. It’s quite common to make a few attempts before you finally get to the ice. The word on the street is that it’s been pretty difficult to get people off the ice this year, owing to crap weather. So if all goes well, I should be on the ice about mid-Feb.

It’s been a lot of fun talking to people about this. Folks outside my little bubble word where this is normal have been fascinated. It’s been a great reminder to keep my head on straight and not underestimate the enormity of the adventure at hand. There has been a lot of preparation. The logistics have been staggering. But it’s all happening. I can’t wait to get to the ice. I don’t know how often I’ll post here, but am hoping to keep somewhat regular posting. The next time you hear from me, true believers, I should be in New Zealand.

3 thoughts on “The journey begins

  1. Yes, getting off the ice has sucked hard. Weather, plus like 140 New Zealanders that came in to help offload/reload the cargo vessel who all have higher priority than me. Been waiting over a week to get out, maybe won’t for another half week.

    If I don’t run into you here, maybe in CHC if I don’t fly out of there for another day or two after arrival.

    When is your ice flight scheduled? When do you arrive in CHC?

    Like

Leave a Reply

